Inland Moto-X Round 1 hosted at E.R.O.R.A – 27 January 2024

East Rand Off Road Association hosted the combined first rounds of 2024 for the National MX Series sponsored by Dragon Energy Drink, the NIMXC also sponsored by Dragon Energy drink as well as the Mayfair Gearbox Inland MX, it was a festival of Motocross very seldom seen, with almost 200 entries throughout the 14 classes. the first Motocross race in 2024 got off to a muddy start from the previous evenings sudden down pour.

A whole lotta Motocross action  with Round 1 of just about everything at E.R.O.R.A – January 2024

“Strues Bob…”, Saturday the 27th of January 2024 saw East Rand Off Road Association, (E.R.O.R.A for short), hosting the Dragon Energy Drink National Motocross, the Dragon Energy Drink NiMCC as well as the Mayfair Gearbox Inland MX. With almost 200 entries across 14 classes it was a festival of mud like we haven’t seen in a long time with an unexpected huge downpour the night before.

Photos: Sean Versfeld – Cloud 9 Photography

Words: Uncle X

Inland MX
#418 Martin Cruz 1st 85cc Pro-Mini

The 85cc Juniors had Keegan Miles take the top step of the podium with Keegan Crawford in 2nd and Keegan Burns in third in both the National MX as well as the NiMXC.

85cc Pro Mini’s for both National and NiMXC had Cruz Martin in 1st position, Dylan Bezuidenhout in 2nd and Connor Schlebusch in third.

The Support class in both series had positions one to three looking like  this; 1st – Chae Rouillon, Terrence Bonsignore, Jayde Coetzer.

Inland MX
#16 Chae Rouillon winning Support class.
Inland MX
#66 Mikah Hendrickse & #40 Hendrico Barwise 65cc

The 65cc class had Ohan Graven, Mikah Hendrickse and Qhamani Thu take first, second and third respectively in both Nationals and NiMXC.

The 125cc High School class for both series in descending order was Damien Venter, Ashton Martin and Ronald Graven.

Inland MX
Winner of the 125cc High school class #114 Damien Venter
Inland MX
50cc Jnr & Snr class. Taking on turn 1.

50cc Jnr’s was Reestan Bartlett, Axell Sutherland and Garry Hammer in 1st, 2nd and 3rd for both series.

In the 50cc Snr’s Luan Jordaan took first with Mason Vrey in second and Zibo Moabi in third. 

The National MX as well as the NiMXC were held in tandem, so all the results apply to both series

MX1 had Jonathan Mlimi take first, Adriano Catalano on the second step and Alastair Drennan in third.

Inland MX
#135 Dean Wheeler putting on a show for the MX1's.
Inland MX
Some close racing in the MX2 class.

MX2 had Mark Anthony Filip take the top step, Cole Meyer on the second step and Louis Mostert on the third step.

The Ladies class had Jessica Osner in first, Mienke Cawood in second and Kelly Beetge in third.

Inland MX
Ladies #99 Michelle Kinnear jumping into the 2024 racing season.
Inland MX
#47 Shaun Lloyd off to a good start 1st in Grand Masters.

Masters was Marc Ansley in first, Nico v d Linden in second and Ty Taylor in third.

Grand Masters was Shaun Lloyd, from Adrian Maguire and David de Wit.

Vets one, two and three respectively was Brandon Wheeler, Sean Strunkheide and Keegan du Plooy respectively

Inland MX
#114 Lario du Toit and #15 Jonothan du Plooy giving each other a go in the Vets class.
Inland MX
#52 Raaff and #74 Meyer 125cc Senior class.

And the results for The Mayfair Gearbox Inland series were exactly the same with the addition of 125cc Seniors who had Slade Smith take first, Ricky Raaf in second and James Lottering in third.

It truly was a great day of MX racing with lots of new riders and plenty of spectators…. Which really bodes well for our sport.

See you at Round 2 of the Mayfair Gearbox Inland MX at Terra Topia on the 2nd of March 2024.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top